TOKENISM AS A NIGERIAN CULTURE

czar'smusings

Some years back, I went for a matter in another town with my colleague. After the court sitting, she asked that we go see her mother who lived in that town.
Her mum offered lunch and after eating, I felt I needed to show my appreciation.
In my native Bini dialect, after eating, one says, ”kada” if a male, and “erhe ghi gbu”, if a female.
Since I did not know the equivalent of these words in hausa or in their native Lunguda dialect, I simply said, “Mama, thank you for the meal”, but she would have none of it. According to her, I was not supposed to thank her for providing me with a meal. As I was under her roof at the moment, I was her child and she owed me a duty to feed me. Therefore, I should not thank her for doing her duty.
That incident…

View original post 514 more words

Leave a Reply

